Support Services E - H

Education- Local Schools

Primary

Blacksmiths Public School https://blacksmith-p.schools.nsw.gov.au/ 4971 1519

Caves Beach Public School https://cavesbeach-p.schools.nsw.gov.au/ 4971 1838

Marks Point Public School https://markspoint-p.schools.nsw.gov.au/ 4945 4433

Nords Wharf Public School https://nordswharf-p.schools.nsw.gov.au/ 4976 1257

Pelican Flat Public School https://pelicanflt-p.schools.nsw.gov.au/ 4971 1543

St Patrick's Catholic School http://www.swansea.catholic.edu.au/ 4971 1560

Swansea Public School https://swansea-p.schools.nsw.gov.au/ 4971 1267

Secondary

Swansea High School https://swansea-h.schools.nsw.gov.au/ 4971 1944

Belmont High School https://belmont-h.schools.nsw.gov.au/ 4945 0600

Education- Adult

TAFE NSW https://www.tafensw.edu.au/ 13 16 01

Atwea (Formally WEA) Hunter https://atwea.edu.au/ 

Eastlakes U3A (University of the 3rd Age) https://eastlakes.u3anet.org.au/ 0490 515 187

Emergency Services

Belmont Police Station https://www.police.nsw.gov.au/   4922 8899

Fire and Rescue NSW (Swansea) https://www.fire.nsw.gov.au/ 4972 1040

NSW Ambulance https://www.ambulance.nsw.gov.au/ 13 12 33

NSW Rural Fire Service (Wallarah) https://www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/ 0458 161 111

Police Assistance Line (PAL) https://www.police.nsw.gov.au/?a=6947 13 14 44


Financial Help & Assistance

Eastlakes Family Support Service - Financial Counselling https://www.efss.org.au/financial.html 4943 9255

No Interest Loan Scheme (NILS) https://nils.com.au/ Local providers include-

Belmont Neighbourhood Centre - Hunter Region NILS 4987 7660
BaptistCare NILS (Windale) 4032 5280
Edgeworth Neighbourhood Centre - Hunter Region NILS 4987 7660
Woodrising Neighbourhood Centre - Hunter Region NILS 4987 7660
Southlake Neighbourhood Centre (Morrisset) - Hunter Region NILS 4987 7660

Salvation Army Moneycare https://www.salvationarmy.org.au/about-us/our-services/moneycare/ 

Salvos Hamilton- 4088 5820
Financial coaching - Financial counseling - NILS - Financial assistance

NAB Step Up Loan https://stepuploan.org.au/  13 64 57 

BaptistCare Mayfield - 4032 5281

Australian Financial Complaints Authority https://www.afca.org.au/ 1800 931 678

The Smith Family Saver Plus Matched Saver and Financial Education Program 1300 610 355   https://www.thesmithfamily.com.au/programs/financial/saver-plus 

Government Members

Pat Conroy MP- Federal Member for Shortland https://www.patconroy.com.au/ 4947 9546

Yasmin Catley MP- State Member for Swansea http://www.yasmincatley.com/ 4972 1133

Mayor Kay Fraser- Lake Macquarie Lord Mayor- 4921 0223

https://www.lakemac.com.au/Our-Council/Councillors-and-wards/Mayor-Kay-Fraser-ALP

Government Departments

Ageing, Disability and Home Care https://www.facs.nsw.gov.au/inclusion/disability 02 9407 1855

Services Australia- Centrelink https://www.servicesaustralia.gov.au/individuals/centrelink

Carers- 132 717
Child Support- 131 272
Crisis Payment- 132 850
Disability- 132 717
Families- 136 150
JobSeeker- 132 850
Income Reporting- 133 276
Indigenous Australians- 1800 136 380
MyGov Helpdesk- 132 307
Older Australians- 132 300
Students & Trainees- ABSTUDY 1800 132 317
Students & Trainees- Austudy 132 490
Youth Allowance (JobSeeker)- 132 490

Services Australia- Medicare https://www.servicesaustralia.gov.au/individuals/medicare

General Enquiries- 132 011
Immunisation Register- 1800 653 809
Organ Donation Register- 1800 777 203
Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme- 132 290

Rentstart Assistance https://www.facs.nsw.gov.au/housing/policies/rentstart-assistance-policy 1300 468 746

Lake Macquarie City Council https://www.lakemac.com.au/Home 4921 0333

Health

GP Access https://hunterprimarycare.com.au/gp-access-after-hours/ 1300 130 147 or 4925 2259

Belmont Hospital https://www.service.nsw.gov.au/nswgovdirectory/belmont-hospital 4923 2000

Cancer Council https://www.cancer.org.au/ 13 11 20

Eastlakes Community Health (Windale) 4944 5300

NSW HIV & Sexual Health Infolink https://www.health.nsw.gov.au/sexualhealth/ 1800 451 624

Health Direct Australia https://www.healthdirect.gov.au/ 1800 022 222

Family Drug Support 4782 9222 or 1300 368 186

John Hunter Hospital http://www.hnehealth.nsw.gov.au/john-hunter-hospital/Pages/Home.aspx 4921 3000

Lakeview Detox Service (Belmont Hospital) Intake Line 4923 2062

Kids with Cancer Foundation https://kidswithcancer.org.au/  9680 7444

Look Good Feel Better https://lgfb.org.au/ 1800 650 960

Mater Hospital https://www.calvarycare.org.au/public-hospital-mater-newcastle/ 4921 1211

BreastScreen NSW http://www.cancerscreening.gov.au/ 13 20 50 

NEXUS Unit (Under 16's Mental Health Unit) 4985 5800

Sane Australia Mental Health helpline https://www.sane.org/ 1800 187 263

After Hours Doctor https://homedoctor.com.au/locations/newcastle 13 SICK (That's 137 425)

Alcoholics Anonymous https://aa.org.au/ 1300 222 222

Youth Health Team http://www.hnekidshealth.nsw.gov.au/site/yht 4925 7804

Oral (Dental) Health (Public Dental Service) http://www.hnekidshealth.nsw.gov.au/site/oralhealth 1300 651 652

Child and Family Health Nursing http://www.hnekidshealth.nsw.gov.au/ 4923 6920

Swansea Wholelife Pharmacy http://www.swanseawholelife.com.au/ 4971 1214

Swansea Discount Drugstore https://www.discountdrugstores.com.au/ 4970 7000

 

Housing & Accommodation

Compass Housing https://www.compasshousing.org/ 1300 333 733 

Family and Community Services- Housing https://www.facs.nsw.gov.au/housing/help/applying-assistance/housing-pathways 1800 422 322

Housing NSW https://www.facs.nsw.gov.au/myhousing 1300 305 667 

Charlestown Office- 4945 6666 or 1300 305 667
Newcastle Office- 1800 422 322

Hunter Tenants Advice and Advocacy Service https://www.tenants.org.au/ 4969 7666 or 1800 654 504

Link2Home https://www.facs.nsw.gov.au/housing/help/ways/are-you-homeless 1800 152 152 

Matthew Talbot Homeless Service https://www.vinnies.org.au/ 4961 1411

Our Backyard Car to Home Project http://www.ourbackyard.info/ 0402 155 586

Nova for Women and Children http://www.novawomen.org.au/ Intake/Referral Line 1800 769 654

Pacific Link Affordable Housing https://www.pacificlink.org.au/ 4324 7617